/  EN
  • Drum Tower (City Center on Qingming)<br>Luo Yongjin, 2016, Inkjet prints on Hannemuehle rice paper

    Drum Tower (City Center on Qingming)
    Luo Yongjin, 2016, Inkjet prints on Hannemuehle rice paper

  • Big Mountain Cells<br>Wu Shankun, 2016

    Big Mountain Cells
    Wu Shankun, 2016

  • Eleanor, Chicago<br>Harry Callahan, 1953, Silver gelatin print

    Eleanor, Chicago
    Harry Callahan, 1953, Silver gelatin print

  • Pine<br>Shi Guowei, 2016, Hand-colored black and white photograph

    Pine
    Shi Guowei, 2016, Hand-colored black and white photograph

  • SCôP curator Karen Smith (r) with visitors

    SCôP curator Karen Smith (r) with visitors

  • Freewheeling Trip (part)<br>Ni Youyu, 2011-16, Silver gelatin prints, composite collage

    Freewheeling Trip (part)
    Ni Youyu, 2011-16, Silver gelatin prints, composite collage

Nature: A Subjective Place

2016.9.7 – 11.27

In autumn 2015, SCoP’s featured exhibition explored the human subject as a “figure of speech”. This autumn, it is the turn of nature as, through photographs, we explore pictorial ways of representing, structuring and symbolizing nature, be that as physical or metaphorical figure of speech, or simply as elemental landscapes. We take you on a trip into the natural world accompanied by the visions of the great 20th century American photographer Harry Callahan, and our own twenty-first century photography artists Lin Ran, Ni Youyu, Luo Yongjin, Shi Guowei, Shen Xuezhe and Wu Shankun from China.

The idea of “nature”, as a concept and value system, is a constructed one. Through several thousand years of human time, nature has been god, spirit, market garden and scientific study; a source of nurture, danger, succor, solace and provisions. We have harnessed its bounties, shaped its contours and manipulated its productivity. We brought it close, made it approachable and transparent, and simultaneously divested it of its mystique so that we no longer see it as it is. In most pictures the elements that once inspired awe are sanitized by their distance from reality and speak only of a romantic, spiritual ideal. As a result, today we face a multitude of problems, embodied in global warming and genetic manipulation.

But in taking nature as a subject, this exhibition looks at our romantic love of the natural world, the nostalgia that the beauty and power of the land inspires, and its function as bedrock and barometer of human society. The selection of works brought together here speaks most directly to those of us who look at landscapes with a quiet sigh of awe, who feel uplifted at the sight of trees rustling in a breeze or the weight of a magnificent bough illuminated against the skyline, a dense carpet of foliage that rolls away into the distance to land at the foot of a stoic mountain face or the flow of water past a river bank. Seeing is a learned skill. It requires a process. In order for anything to be appreciated or seen, it had first to be framed and presented. In the manner that, as Diane Arbus once claimed “There were things no one else could see unless I photographed them.” What we hope to demonstrate here is how when real nature collides with the precision and clarity of an artist’s vision, when photography engages with human experience, photographs have the power to astonish visually, emotionally and intellectually, and foster greater awareness of the role we play in shaping the natural world.

“Nature: A Subjective Place” presents over 70 extraordinarily accomplished photographic works created using a host of styles and techniques, traditions and approaches. From the unusual and innovative works of Harry Callahan (1912-99) seen here in rare examples dating from the early 1940s to the mid-1970s, we have new and large-scale projects from Luo Yongjin and Wu Shankun; a series of elegant assemblages from artist Ni Youyu; magnificent portraits of landscapes from Shen Xuezhe and Lin Ran; and a group of exquisitely crafted color compositions from Shi Guowei.

We would like to thank Charles Jin for his generous loan of Harry Callahan works; Lise Li at Vanguard Gallery, Shanghai; Pan Baohui and Qu Kejie at Magician Space, Beijing; Na Risong for his loan of Lin Ran’s works.

Nature: A Subjective Place

2016.9.7 – 11.27

Nature: A Subjective Place

2016.9.7 – 11.27

Harry CALLAHAN
b.1912 Detroit U.S.A / d.1999 Atlanta U.S.A.
      
Harry Callahan began his career as a self-taught photographer.Callahan’s subjects include his wife Eleanor and daughter Barbara nature and light studies architecture and landscapes and scenes from his travels.


LIN Ran
b.1958 Chongqing / Lives and works in Chengdu Sichuan province
      
Lin Ran began taking photographs in 1980s. His reputation has been built upon his research and practice using classic photography techniques and materials.


WU Shankun
b.1989 Zhuhai Guangdong province / Lives and works in Beijing
      
Wu Shankun graduated with a BA in media and communication from Beijing Normal University in 2012 and an MA in photography from the London College of Communication in 2014.  Wu Shankun’s photography is focused on the relationship between people and life viewed through a prism of the virtual.


NI Youyu
b.1984 Shanghai / Lives and works in Shanghai
      
Ni Youyu graduated from Shanghai University with a degree in Chinese Painting in 2007. Today he is recognized as a leading figure of the post-1980 generation. In a largely conceptual body of work Ni habitually turns ordinary and trivial things into works of art.


LUO Yongjin
b.1960 Beijing / Lives and works in Shanghai
      
Luo Yongjin is one of the most exhibited and widely-known of China’s contemporary photographers. It is Luo’s work with architecture that began in the late 1990s that are today most characteristic of his st
yle and focus.


SHEN Xuezhe
b.1973 Yanbian Jilin province / Lives and works in South Korea
      
SHEN Xuezhe photographs his native region China’s north-eastern province of Jilin lovingly with subtlety. His landscapes are lush la
yered beautifully framed and perfectly pictured; in many ways perfectly ordinary but seen in a remarkable way.


SHI Guowei
b.1977 Luoyang Henan province / Lives and works in Beijing

Shi Guowei graduated with a BA in photography from the Academy of Arts & Design Tsinghua University in 2002 and an MA in photography from Fachhochschule Dortmund Germany in 2006. Working with traditional black and white photographic processes SHI Guowei deploys the craft of hand-coloring in a most painterly yet invisible fashion.

/  EN
  • 林然 | 穹谷·映射·纳湖转山,局部 | 2012

    林然 | 穹谷·映射·纳湖转山,局部 | 2012

  • 罗永进 | 鼓楼(清明下海图)局部 | 2016

    罗永进 | 鼓楼(清明下海图)局部 | 2016

  • 哈里·卡拉汉 | 埃莉诺,普罗旺斯的艾斯城 | 1958

    哈里·卡拉汉 | 埃莉诺,普罗旺斯的艾斯城 | 1958

  • 沈学哲 | 倒下的大树| 2012

    沈学哲 | 倒下的大树| 2012

  • 倪有鱼 | 逍遥游2 局部 | 2011-2012

    倪有鱼 | 逍遥游2 局部 | 2011-2012

  • 吴舢锟 | 大山:细胞 | 2016

    吴舢锟 | 大山:细胞 | 2016

  • 史国威 | 有风景的房间C | 2013

    史国威 | 有风景的房间C | 2013

自然: 主观的景态

2016年9月8日 - 11月27日

2015年秋天,SCoP推出了以人物为喻体的展览。这个秋天,大自然一跃成为主角,通过摄影,我们探讨表现、结构和象征自然的画意方式;在这里,自然抑或是物理式或暗喻式的喻体,又抑或是单纯的景态。此次自然之旅中,陪伴我们的有20世纪著名美国摄影家哈里·卡拉汉以及我国21世纪摄影艺术家林然、罗永进、倪有鱼、沈学哲、史国威和吴舢锟。

作为观念和价值系统的自然,是一个被构建的概念。人类经过上千年的锤炼,将自然视为神灵或灵魂,从中攫取资源,将其作为蔬果来源或科学研究的对象;自然既是人类培育的资源,也是危险之源,救助之所,人类可以从自然当中寻求慰藉与生存供给。我们学会利用丰富的自然资源,塑造其不同的轮廓并控制其生产力。我们走近自然,将它变得易于接近且透明,同时我们也揭开了其神秘的面纱,我们所见的不再是它真正的样子。在大多数出现自然的照片中,一旦被相框所固定,那些曾经令人敬畏的元素被实际的观看距离效果所美化,只表现出浪漫、唯美、神圣的完美景象。其结果导致了一系列的问题,如全球变暖以及基因操作。

当我们将“自然”作为展览主题,关注的是对于自然世界充满浪漫色彩的爱,这片神奇的土地的美与力量所激发出的怀旧之情,以及自然作为人类社会的基石和晴雨表的功能。我们在面对自然时,内心会产生唏嘘敬畏之情,本次摄影展所集结的作品直接传达了这样的心声。当我们看到在清风中瑟瑟作响的树木;或在天空的映衬下,华丽而粗壮的树枝发着耀眼的光;亦或是在山脚下一片如地毯般铺开的厚厚的落叶;以及堤岸边的潺潺流水,内心都会充满无限喜悦。观看是一种需要学习的技能,它需要练习的过程。为了让每件事物都能够被领会或看到,首先要将它们放进框架当中并展现出来。以此方式,就如戴安·阿勃丝(Diane Arbus)曾这样说过:“这世上存在无法被看到的事物,除非我用相机把它拍摄下来。”(There were things no one else could see unless I photographed them)此次《自然:主观的景态》展览中,我们所希望展现的是当“真正”的自然与艺术家视角的精确度和清晰度产生碰撞的时候,照片中的自然由于与人类经验的结合,能够拥有在视觉上、情感上以及理性上都产生震撼的威力,同时培育人类对自身在自然的形成中扮演何种角色的更强烈的认知。

《自然:主观的景态》展出的70余幅作品体现了大量不同的风格、技巧、传统与创作手法,其中包括著名摄影师哈里·卡拉汉(Harry Callahan)(1912-99)从20世纪40年代早期至70年代中期所创作的革新性作品,罗永进和吴舢锟全新的大画幅作品;艺术家倪有鱼创作的优雅的拼贴作品;沈学哲和林然精美的风景摄影作品;以及史国威的一组精致的手工着色作品。

我们在此衷心感谢各位参展摄影家。感谢靳宏伟先生提供哈里·卡拉汉作品;感谢上海Vanguard画廊的李力女士、北京魔金石空间的潘宝会女士和曲科杰先生;感谢北京映艺术中心/映画廊的那日松先生提供林然作品。


 

自然: 主观的景态

2016年9月8日 - 11月27日

自然: 主观的景态

2016年9月8日 - 11月27日

哈里•卡拉汉
1912年生于美国底特律/1999年逝于美国亚特兰大

作为20世纪下半叶最具影响力的美国摄影师之一,哈里·卡拉汉自学成才。哈里·卡拉汉拍摄黑白及彩色照片,主题有妻子埃莉诺、女儿芭芭拉,也有自然和光的研究、芝加哥市中心的行人、电话线、普罗维登斯的建筑、科德角的风景以及各地旅游的风光。

 

林然
1958年生于重庆/现生活工作于成都

林然于80年代开始摄影创作。他在摄影界的权威地位源于对古典摄影技法的研究与实践。林然镜头中的景色孤独、神秘,荒芜的平原广阔、令人着迷,虽空无却又充满细节。

 

吴舢锟
1989年生于广东珠海/现生活工作于北京

吴舢锟2012年获北京师范大学影视系学士学位,2014年获伦敦传媒学院摄影硕士学位。其作品《一封来自远方的信》获2015年度第七届三影堂摄影奖提名。他主要探讨虚拟艺术与数字时代下人与环境的关系。

 

倪有鱼
1984年生于上海/现生活工作于上海

倪有鱼2007年毕业于上海大学国画专业。作为颇有名气的80后艺术家,倪有鱼善于巧妙地将日常琐碎的事物运用到观念艺术中。他的拼贴作品和他的绘画、装置作品在内在手法上有某种一致性。

 

罗永进
1960年生于北京/现生活工作于上海

罗永进是中国最被国际认知和广泛展出的当代摄影师之一。他最广为人知的是其对建筑和环境氛围的研究,他的建筑作品起始于90年代末,拍摄兰州地区和中国西部的农村家庭,随后也纪录了广东、浙江类似的发展,通过地区性特征展示了逐步发展的时代品味。

 

沈学哲
1973年生于吉林延边/现生活工作于韩国

沈学哲自幼跟随父亲学习摄影及暗房工艺,2000年结识延边大学的一名韩国特聘教授,学习摄影理论知识,并得以接触大量摄影大师的作品。沈学哲出生成长于延边—中朝边境之城,《边界之地豆满江》系列中的豆满江承担着国家与社会意义的分界线角色。

 

史国威
1977年生于河南洛阳/现生活工作于北京

史国威2002年毕业于清华大学美术学院摄影专业,2006年获德国多特蒙德高等专业学院摄影硕士学位。从作品《祭》(2012)开始,人物题材逐渐从史国威的创作中淡出,取而代之的是平常无奇的、抽象化的景物。这个转变过程被艺术家看作是“从具象转向抽象,由表象转入内涵”。