/  EN
  • Stanley Fung, Tiny Dust, Illuminated, 2010

    Stanley Fung, Tiny Dust, Illuminated, 2010

  • Installation shots at SCoP

    Installation shots at SCoP

  • Leung Chi Wo + Sara Wong, Japanese Housewife Scratching Her Back, 2010

    Leung Chi Wo + Sara Wong, Japanese Housewife Scratching Her Back, 2010

  • Yau Leung, Actresses of Shaw Brothers Film Studios, 1970s

    Yau Leung, Actresses of Shaw Brothers Film Studios, 1970s

  • Leung Chi Wo + Sara Wong, Photojournalist With Two Cameras, 2010

    Leung Chi Wo + Sara Wong, Photojournalist With Two Cameras, 2010

  • Meng Minsheng, Beauty, 1960s

    Meng Minsheng, Beauty, 1960s

  • Portrait of Robert Ray, Fan Fo, 1956

    Portrait of Robert Ray, Fan Fo, 1956

Figures of Speech

2015.12.13 – 2016.2.29

Curator: Karen Smith

“Figures of Speech” presents the work of a diverse group of photographers living and working in Hong Kong from the 1950s through to the present. The title refers to the subjects of the photographs, who in those different eras were photographed to various purposes, yet, few of which represent portraits in the conventional sense. Here, personal character or identity tends to be enacted by the person in the picture. 


From Yau Leung’s studios shots of famous actresses, who give us a performance of the public persona by which they were most immediately recognized, to Meng Minsheng’s staged tributes to mainland ideology, from Leung Chi Wo + Sara Wong’s recognition of the unknown figures caught in historic photographs to Stanley Fung’s moving, spiritual narratives, the people in these portraits function in metaphoric fashion as a figure of speech to speak of something more than just themselves.

The inspiration here is both serious and playful – it should be stressed that all the works were, in the time of their making, wholly serious in intent—and the photographs are the result of a great deal of creativity. The exhibition begins with a rare group of five portraits by Fan Ho, arguably Hong Kong’s most well-known and regarded photographer; one who saw daily life as a “living theatre” and thus evokes the aura of the figures of speech. If a photograph is a stage, then the various bodies of work in “Figures of Speech” demonstrate the incisive role of dramatist that great photographers play so deftly.

Figures of Speech

2015.12.13 – 2016.2.29

Figures of Speech

2015.12.13 – 2016.2.29

Fan HO
b.1931 Shanghai/lives and works in San Francisco

Fan Ho arrived in Hong Kong in 1949 aged 18. The territory was his most immediate subject, or rather, it became his singular Muse: the streets were his studio, as well as the landscape on which he mapped tales of daily life from the harbor side to the views provided by the highrise buildings down to the narrow roadway below.

A talented actor, Fan Ho joined the Shaw Brothers Film Studios in 1961 and starred in a number of successful movies. His sense of life’s drama as it unfolded on the streets was innate. Later, in 1969, he would leave the Shaw Studios to develop his career as a film director, affirming that a lens was the vehicle by which he saw the world most clearly.

The three portraits included here in “Figures of Speech” were taken between 1952 and 1956. The subjects are stage actors or photographer friends of Fan Ho. The portraits deftly assert Fan Ho’s story-telling skills; perhaps most clearly in the frame Behind the Mask, which cleverly reveals nothing of the actor behind the mask. Instead it is the vacant, painted gaze of the mask that becomes a macabre force of attention, and the mysterious portrait of Robert Ray.


MENG Minsheng
b.1919, Shanghai / d.2007, Hong Kong

Born in Shanghai, Meng Minsheng grew up in Hong Kong. He started working with photography whilst in the brief employ of a local film studio, which would lead him to produce the Beauty series. But he was also an affiliate of the left wing Hong Kong Federation of Trade Unions, which he joined in the late 1940s and which was a group of people with strong ethnic pride who loved their motherland and actively responded to the socialist ideology that was being implemented across the mainland. Photographs Meng Minsheng took in his spare time documented many social aspects of Hong Kong, especially the daily life of ordinary local people, who formed a very different picture of Hong Kong from the wealthy elite affiliated with the British ruling class. But for Meng Minsheng, the mainland’s political directives, which led in 1966 to the launch of the Cultural Revolution, were the most useful vehicle for asserting his patriotism. In 1965, he produced the first of a series of surreal photographs that can be described as more truly representing his own expression. Creating painted backdrops and simple but effective sets, he used an economy of means similar to that found in the mainland, as would be used in the performing of the model operas.


YAU Leung
b.1941, Hong Kong / d.1997, Hong Kong

Yau Leung is one of Hong Kong’s most important photographers. Working from the 1950s to his untimely death in 1997, he produced images which exemplify the social and economic development of this period as well as the growth in the Hong Kong entertainment industry. Yau Leung began as a photographer in the golden age of Hong Kong film. From 1965 to 1970, he was employed as a stills photographer for Hong Kong Cathay Film studios and his images of women adorned the cover of countless issues of the film magazine Southern Screen. In 1970, Yau Leung briefly joined the rival Shaw Studios, but in 1971, moved to the monthly magazine Southern Screen. In 1973, he founded the monthly magazine Photography Life, and then in 1980 became chief editor of the magazine Photography Arts.

The 1970s and 1980s were a golden era for Yau Leung’s photography, but however we might celebrate the vision Yau Leung brought to capturing the flamboyance of the era, this natural flair for commercial celebrity work that he showed was strictly directed at his day job: his passion was for street photography. Yau Leung continued to produce documentary photographs of people from all walks of life in Hong Kong until his untimely death in 1997, when working at his day job in the studio.


Stanley FUNG
b.1961, Hong Kong / Lives and works in Taiwan

Born in Hong Kong in 1961, Stanley Fung was four when his family moved to Taiwan, where his father founded the province's first Methodist church. He himself converted to Christianity at the age of thirteen, but initially showed no signs of following in his father’s footsteps into the church. Photography was his first calling, a decision inspired by his experience seeing two exhibitions by the Taiwanese photographer Juan I-Jong, who would later be his teacher.

Stanley Fung’s expression finds full form in the series he titles Dust Icons. The subjects are friends and followers of the church which he leads. Each portrait was shot in a rented studio above the church and this sense of the closeness of this community emanates from the photographs as a bond of complete trust between subject and author. All are dressed in simple garments befitting the persona from the Bible that are there to represent: David the young shepherd boy, the Virgin Mary, Noah, Samuel the boy prophet, and Miriam the Prophetess. Each portrait tells its own tale, above and beyond the narrative that was for Stanley Fung the point of departure. From one face to the next, in gazes that are direct and averted, postures that are modest and at ease, we encounter childlike innocence, purity of spirit, modesty, humility, a quiet comfort in life lived free of unmanageable desires. Other portraits in the series achieve a similar aura but are less specific in terms of constituting a particular character. They serve instead as metaphors for human qualities; modesty, loyalty, determination and strength.


LEUNG Chi Wo + Sara WONG
b.1968, Hong Kong / Live and work in Hong Kong

An imaginative investigation through staged photography, He was lost yesterday and we found him today is a series of 28 self portraits in which Leung Chi Wo + Sara Wong re‐enact the image of anonymous figures that they picked out from images in old magazines, newspapers, pamphlets, souvenir books and other documents that they have been collecting over the years for a project they title Museum of the Lost.

Inspired by Roland Barthes’ analysis of photography, an idea that a photograph points to and repeats something that “has been” and that "could never be repeated existentially", Leung Chi Wo + Sara Wong set out to do attempt the impossibility of repeating an image be restaging it as exactly as is possible. As a process of interpreting images and researching the context of the anonymous subjects, the artists seek to recreate the attitude and identity of each figure. By posing as individuals who incidentally appeared in a group of found images, the artists Leung Chi Wo + Sara Wong project a layer of irony onto the grand historical narrative that is portrayed by the media. Placed against a flat single-colored backdrop, their faces concealed from us, the subjects remain unidentifiable. The impossibility of identifying an anonymous person from the past as caught in a photographic image is, for the artists, a romantic encounter with history, experience in a most humble but vivid way and permits the existential aspects of their gesture and posture to exert a forceful fascination which underscores the poetics of photography in portraying the human figure.

/  EN
  • 被光照的微尘, 冯君蓝, 2010年

    被光照的微尘, 冯君蓝, 2010年

  • 展览现场

    展览现场

  • 搔背脊的日本家庭主妇, 梁志和+黄志恒, 2010年

    搔背脊的日本家庭主妇, 梁志和+黄志恒, 2010年

  • 邵氏女星, 邱良, 1970年

    邵氏女星, 邱良, 1970年

  • 摄影大师邓雪峰, 何藩, 1952年

    摄影大师邓雪峰, 何藩, 1952年

  • 李丽华, 邱良, 1970年

    李丽华, 邱良, 1970年

喻体·幻像

2015年12月13日-2016年2月29日

策展人: 凯伦·史密斯

 

《喻体 · 幻像》展出一组从二十世纪五十年代至今生活或工作在香港的不同类型的摄影师群体的作品。展览标题指代摄影作品主题,即身处不同时代、因不同目的而摄入的人物,但都绝非是传统意义上的人像作品。在此,个人品性或特定身份是由相中人扮演。从邱良所摄的女明星人像作品中,每位明星以当时让她们闻名遐迩的大众角色出镜,到蒙敏生构造的对大陆意识形态的颂歌;从梁志和+黄志恒对历史照片中无名氏的辨认到冯君蓝感人至深的精神叙事,肖像中的这些人物以比喻的方式来起作用,诉说超越他们自身的主题。

《喻体 · 幻像》的灵感既严肃又俏皮,在此呈现的作品都是非凡创造力的成果,需要强调的是,所有作品在摄制过程中意图都是严肃的。展览从五张不同寻常的人物肖像开始。这些作品由何藩创作,他或许是香港最负盛名和最受尊崇的摄影师。他将日常看作“生活的戏院”,这恰恰激发了喻体的氛围。如果图像是舞台,那么《喻体•幻像》中的很多作品便证实了伟大的摄影师也能熟练扮演深刻的剧作家角色。

喻体·幻像

2015年12月13日-2016年2月29日

喻体·幻像

2015年12月13日-2016年2月29日

何藩
1931年生于上海/生活工作于旧金山

1949年18岁的何藩来到香港,这片土地成为了他最直接的主题,或者可以说,她是他独一无二的缪斯。街道是他的工作室,也是他用以构建日常生活故事的风景:从港口到高楼大厦俯视狭窄巷陌之间的视域。        作为一名有天分的演员,何藩于1960年加入邵氏电影公司,并出演了一系列成功的影片。而他对在街道铺陈开来的戏剧生活的感受无疑是与生俱来的。他认定镜头是他更真切地观察这个世界的载体,1969年他离开邵氏公司,开展了作为电影导演的新事业阶段。

《喻体》包含了3件1952年到1956年间拍摄的早期肖像作品,主题人物为舞台演员和何藩的摄影师朋友。这些肖像娴熟地展示了作者的叙事技巧,或许最清晰地如 《面具背后》:面具后的演员什么也没有泄露,而面具空洞的、人为绘制的凝视成为吸引注意力的惊悚力量和罗伯特·雷的神秘肖像。

 

蒙敏生
1919年生于上海/2007年逝于香港

蒙敏生祖籍广州,生于上海,并在香港长大。在一家电影工作室工作时与摄影结缘,这也激发了他的《香港风华》系列。40年代末期,他加入了香港左翼工人组织“港九工会联合会”(现为“香港工会联合会”)。粤语称他们为“左仔”,指有着强烈的民族自尊,热爱祖国,深切感召于大陆社会主义意识形态的一群人。闲暇时间,蒙敏生用摄影记录了香港生活的方方面面,特别是当地普通劳动人民的日常生活,这些人形成了与依附着英国统治阶级的上流社会完全不同的群体。对蒙敏生来说,大陆1966年开始并持续到文化大革命爆发的政治方针是他表达爱国之情的有效手段。1965年也就是文化大革命的前夕,他开始创作了一系列超现实的照片来体现革命精神,这些作品真正代表了他的观点。他使用绘制的背景,简单却有效的场设,这些手法与大陆的样板戏有异曲同工之妙。

 

邱良
1941年生于香港/1997年逝于香港

邱良被誉为香港摄影史上最重要的摄影师之一。从五十年代开始从事摄影到1997年去世,他一直记录着香港社会、经济,以及同时期香港娱乐业的发展。邱良在香港电影的黄金年代开始摄影。1965年至1970年期间,他担任香港国泰电影公司的剧照摄影师,曾为《南国电影》杂志拍摄过许多女星封面。1970年邱良加入了邵氏电影,并短暂工作过一段时间。1971年,他加入《南国电影》杂志。1973年,他创办了《摄影生活》月刊,此后一直从事摄影刊物编辑,并于1980年后升任《摄影艺术》总编辑。

1970至1980的十年,是邱良摄影生涯的黄金十年。但无论我们如何赞赏他捕捉的那个年代的浮华与绚丽,都不能跳脱出他作为商业摄影师的日常工作范围。他的兴趣其实在于街头摄影,直到1997去世,邱良在工作之余持续拍摄记录香港各阶层生活,从未间断。

 

冯君蓝
1961年生于香港/现生活工作于台湾

冯君蓝4岁时和家人迁居台湾,父亲在那开拓了卫理工会的第一间教会。他最初没有步父亲后尘,但13岁时矢志成为基督徒。受台湾摄影家阮义忠(后成为他的老师)两个展览的启发,冯君蓝开始摄影,并坚信摄影是他的第一使命。

《微尘圣像》是他表达尤为饱满的系列。肖像的主体都是冯君蓝的教友,拍摄地点就在教会楼上租来的工作室里。作品中人物透露出对拍摄者全然的信任,他们衣着简单,装扮成圣经典故中的人物:牧童大卫、童贞女玛利亚、挪亚、灵童撒母耳、女先知米利暗。这些肖像超越了创作的出发点,每一幅诉说着自己的故事。一张张的面孔,直接或转移的目光,端庄或自在的姿势,无一不透露出赤子的无邪、性灵的纯净、品性的端庄、态度的谦逊、无欲的泰然。系列中的另一些肖像虽无指代具体的人物,却也创造了类似的氛围,隐喻人性中的端重、忠诚、决心和力量。

 

梁志和+黃志恒
1968年生于香港/现生活工作于香港

《今天我们寻回昨天遗失的他》是一系列28张由艺术家亲身演绎摆拍的人像照。梁志和+黄志恒从持续项目《遗失博物馆》收藏多年的旧杂志、报纸、宣传册、纪念册等文献及存档资料中,选取当中图像里一些身份不明的人物,并透过想象及资料搜集去演绎这些人物角色。

受罗兰·巴特的摄影理论启发,即摄影指向“业已存在”并且机械重复着“实际存在中永远不可能重复的东西”,梁志和+黃志恒试图通过重现这些图像挑战复制不可复制之物。在解读图像和研究无名氏的背景资料过程中,艺术家试图重塑每个人物的态度与身份。梁志和+黃志恒把原本不经意出现在图片里的小人物放置在舞台中央,借以戏谑媒体中的历史片段。单色背景下,我们无法看清他们的面部,也无从辨认他们的身份。对艺术家而言,要辨别一个不可能被辨别的身份,正是一次谦卑却又活泼地跟历史的邂逅。而相片中他们生动存在的姿态和造型又散发着不可抗拒的魅力,强调了摄影在刻画人物时独有的诗意。